Pursuant to P.D. 198 as amended, the Aparri Water District was formed on January 18, 1978 by virtue of Resolution No. 5, Series of 1978, approved by the Sangguniang Bayan to cover the entire Municipality of Aparri.  The Resolution was filed with LWUA on February 13, 1978 and became the 68th Water District to receive its Conditional Certificate of conformance (CCC) on November 6, 1978.

Section 5 of P.D. No. 198, as amended, explicitly enumerated the purposes of the local water district namely:

  • To acquire, install, improve, maintain and operate supply and distribution systems for domestic, industrial, municipal and agricultural uses for residence and lands within the boundaries of such districts;
  • To provide, maintain and operate waste water collection, treatment disposal facilities; and
  • To conduct such other functions and operations incidental to water resources development, utilization and disposal within such districts, as are necessary or incidental to said purpose.

The Aparri Water District is considered as a Quasi-Public Corporation, performing public service and supplying public wants; shall exercise powers, rights and privileges which fall under the jurisdiction of the Civil Service Commission, the Commission on Audit and the Department of Budget and Management.

The district was categorized as a Small Water District now Category D Water District as per Local District Manual on Categorization, Re-Categorization effective March 16, 2013 with thirteen (13) permanent employees.  It is managed through policies formulated by its Board of Directors, in accordance with the regulation imposed by the Local Water Utilities Administration, National Government and Regulatory Bodies.

To date, the AWD has 29 drilled and 6 dug wells as its water sources   serving 1,497 household within the 23 barangays.